On First Principles

It would be dishonest to say that I always wanted to be a game designer.

Truth be told, I always wanted to be professional basketball player when I was growing up. Unfortunately, I stopped growing in 8th grade. This left me at a respectable 6 feet and 3 inches, which was tall enough for an enjoyable high school campaign. However, a well-timed ankle injury less than a week before my division III college’s try-outs served as a final nail in that career-choice.

Since college has come up, I should mention that I came away from that (the first time at least) with a degree in Theology. I would think that’s an uncommon choice for an aspiring game designer – and so it shouldn’t be extremely surprising to learn that in college I didn’t have a career in game design in mind.

Truth be told, I don’t know what exactly I had in mind for my life post-college.

My reasoning went something like this: “This college has the best undergraduate Theology department in the country, and since I’m not sure what exactly I want to do, I might as well get the most prestigious degree this school can offer me.”

The short answer is that a Theology degree wasn’t exactly helpful in terms of helping me find a job after I graduated, and while I was able to work my way into a pretty cushy manager job over a mailroom at a pretty cool company, it wasn’t enough for me. I wanted to work on creating something that I was passionate about. Most of all though, I wanted to tell stories.

So, I found a school that I could take some computer science classes at, packed all my stuff into my car (aside from my desktop and some clothes, there wasn’t much), and headed to start a new career.

And that’s where I am now. We’ll have to see what happens next.

About Pantherra

Computer Science student with a desire for a career in Game Development or Software Engineering.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

